top of page
Search

What led me to study Pregnancy and Pediatric Chiropractic?


Great question!

When I was younger, I had 2 good friends go through emergency C-sections and very scary birth experiences. So, I decided that if I ever had a child, I would have a planned C-section. It just seemed safer.

Luckily, I decided to go to chiropractic school before trying to start a family! I learned a lot in a very low pressure setting – after all, I wasn’t pregnant, so I could take as much time as I needed to learn, digest new information and ask questions to inform myself about pregnancy and childbirth. We had a pediatrics club at school, so I joined and attended each meeting. I eventually become the president of the club for my final year in school. I learned about the importance of balancing your pelvis, not only during pregnancy but always, to help prevent or alleviate low back pain, hip pain and improve posture.

As the president of the pediatrics club, several younger students who were pregnant choose to have me as their student intern at the clinic throughout their pregnancy! It was so awesome to be able to share the experience of a pregnancy with a young family. I was hooked!

During my final trimester at school, my husband and I became pregnant with our first child. I was able to receive awesome chiropractic care throughout my pregnancy and really experience all of the benefits of a well adjusted pregnancy. My senior research project was even pregnancy based.

Many women experience greater comfort throughout their pregnancy, have a better fetal position and therefore a shorter labor. Not only is chiropractic care one of the best ways to reduce back pain during pregnancy, it also has great benefits for labor and delivery! Wow! Now maybe you can see why I think every woman deserves access to great chiropractic care during every pregnancy!

If you are local, contact me to learn more. If not, check out the ICPA to find a well educated, passionate doctor near you. Link in the comments.

Thanks for sharing my journey with me.

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page